Sasquatch Books logo

The Opposite Is Also True

A Journal of Creative Wisdom for Artists

6-1/4 x 8-1/2; $16.95

144 pages

ISBN: 9781632171399

This guided journal for artists will make you question your previously held beliefs and push your art to thrive in unexpected ways.
 
With her lovely, subtle illustrations, Cleo presents pairs of opposing advice for artists and creatives on facing pages, along with prompts and quotes, encouraging readers to embrace the push-pull of the creative process and find their own path forward. Each illustrated spread with its pair of opposing advice is followed by a blank spread with a related exercise prompt for developing an artistic practice. This journal is perfect for those who need a gentle nudge out of a rut, or a reminder that taking the less traveled path can lead you to the best results. Perfect for fans of Keri Smith, Austin Kleon, and Elle Luna.

CLEO PAPANIKOLAS has a BFA in printmaking from California College of Arts and an MFA in painting from the University of California, Berkeley. She is the author and illustrator of Cook Until Desired Tenderness. She illustrated The Comfort Queen's Guide to Life and a line of over one hundred licensed products based on the book. As a painter/author/illustrator, Cleo has worked on large public murals, oil-on-canvas paintings for fine art galleries, and small pieces for print. Her work has appeared in the San Francisco Chronicle, the San Francisco Examiner, magazines including Uppercase, The Bark, Better Homes and Gardens, ReadyMade, and Edible San Francisco, and books from University of California Press, Swallow Press, and Dromedary Press. She has taught at the San Francisco Center for the Book, Castle in the Air, Copia, UC Berkeley, Makeshift Society, and CreativeLive.

Share

Also Available

52 Lists Postcards

For Connecting with Loved Ones Near and Far

52 Lists for Togetherness

Journaling Inspiration to Deepen Connections with Those You Love

Rally

A Nikki McClure Journal

Daring Dames

A Kyler Martz Journal

52 Lists for Happiness

Weekly Journaling Inspiration for Positivity, Balance, and Joy

Flora Forager

A Seasonal Journal Collected from Nature